Find by Category

Classification of Algae – Learn Suffixes & Categories

Chlorophyll is present in all groups of algae, but in some groups pigments other than chlorophyll are dominant and mask the green color of chlorophyll. On the basis of their color following four groups were recognized.

  1. Myxophyceae or Cyanophyceae (blue-green algae): dominant pigment e-phycocyanin
  2. Chlorophyceae (green algae): dominant pigment chlorophyll a and b 
  3. Phaeophyceae (brown algae): dominant pigment -fucoxanthin.
  4. Rhodophyceae (red algae): dominant pigment -r-phycoerythrin. In the last few decades a lot of information has become available on the structure, reproduction and physiological processes of algae which has been used to develop more natural systems of classification. The basic characters employed in the classification of algae are the physiological characteristics of vegetative cells (eg, chemical nature of the cell wall, reserve food materials and types of pigments) and the morphology of motile reproductive cells (e.g.. kind, number and position or insertion of flagella). International Code of Botanical Nomenclature has recommended the following

Suffixes for the different categories of algae: 

These suffixes are used to classify algae, learning them could help you quickly identify and categorize algae plants.

Division – phyta

Sub-division – phytina

Class – phyceae

Sub-class – phycidae

Order – ales

Sub-order – inales

Family – aceae 

Sub-family – oideae

Leave a Comment